UK announces travel ban

“If you have been in or through any of the countries listed below in the previous 10 days, you will be refused entry to the UK. If you are a British or Irish National, or you have residence rights in the UK, you will be able to enter but you must quarantine in a government-approved hotel for 10 days,” reads the UK government circular.

“The decision to ban travel from these destinations follows the discovery of a new coronavirus variant, first identified in South Africa, that may have spread to other countries, including the UAE, Burundi and Rwanda. Any exemptions usually in place will not apply, including for business travel,” the UK government said in a statement posted on its website.

The countries in Africa that have been banned include Angola, Botswana, DR Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia ,Zimbabwe, Rwanda, Tanzania and Burundi.

The ban from the 33 countries was based on scientific research recommendations. The country is afraid of the new variant from infecting her people. The new ban will start from February 15th 2021

visit Kendirita for more news

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *